Wayland (band) – Rising American rock band.

The band is known for their extensive fan base and their transparent and intimate relationship with their fanbase, the Wayland Warriors. They are signed to Fearlyss


Wayland (band)

165930635 291224982361602 8274089772209837309 n

Mitchel Arnold, Phillip Vilenski, Dean Pizzazz, Tyler Coburn were four midwestern natives that all met in Los Angeles and built a band around Mitch and Phill’s songwriting. One of their first gigs was becoming the house band at the Whisky A Go Go. While playing the Whisky A Gogo, they caught the ear of Michael Gurley (Dada) and Florian Ammon (Rammstein, Mariah Carey, U2) and they began developing twelve songs which would become their self titled debut album. They brought and introduced the band to Jude Cole and Keifer Sutherland and his label, Ironworks Records after winning the KLOS Battle Of The Bands.

They recorded at the famous Can Am studios in Los Angeles.

Wayland’s debut album was released on October 29, 2010, on Ironworks Records. The band left Los Angeles after their album was released to live and tour in the Midwest. They rented a pre-civil war farm house outside of Wayland, Michigan.

Wayland caught the attention of the nationally syndicated radio show Free Beer & Hot Wings based in Grand Rapids, Michigan by bringing them breakfast and participating in a running segment where the morning show would make fun of local bands. The station’s program director heard the band’s music on the show, invited them into the office and added the single Shopping For A Savior into power rotation on 97.9 WGRD.

94713350 3509405315755176 3261205750600433664 n

When that happened, Jude Cole (Lifehouse) immediately requested the band return to Los Angeles to record an EP to specifically release to active rock radio and recruited Jesse James Dupree (Jackyl, Full Throttle Saloon) as day-to-day management.

In 2012, Wayland released Welcome to My Head as part of a 4-song EP. Welcome To My Head peaked at #36 on the active rock charts and the band started touring relentlessly to radio markets across the country in an RV given to them for free through a sponsorship with American RV.

The band adopted the catchphrase “always on tour” performing over 250 shows per year and releasing radio singles Reno and Get A Little. “Get a Little”, peaked at number six on the iTunes rock chart in 2014. This success warranted the band’s spots on festivals and bike rallys. Their attendance grew and their radio relationships organically took a positive turn.

They became known for their acoustic performances on day time radio and their work ethic.

In 2016 the band was still touring while writing a record with Justin Rimer working at Crosstrax studio in Memphis. When the record was in its final stages, drummer Tyler Coburn exited the band in January 2017 and Nigel Dupree came in to re-record drums on the finished record. The record was mixed by Jeff Tomei in Atlanta before being released.

In September 2017, Rinse and Repeat was released under Thermal Entertainment under the management of Jesse Dupree and Mark Abramson (Roadrunner Records/ New Century Media.) The first single from this album, “Through the Fire” peaked in the Top 40 on the Billboard charts along with follow up single “Ghost” cowritten with Brent Smith and Zach Myers from Shinedown.

wayland the band 2014jpg 40948f70e8d1c342

In June 2018 Wayland signed to Fearlyss Entertainment for full-time management and parts ways with Thermal Entertainment and Mighty Loud Ent.

In 2018, bass player Dean Pizzazz exited the band. Two year front of house sound engineer and close friend Dallas Hall took over on bass.

In 2018, the band began writing songs for their next record with Emmy award-winning songwriter Jacob Bunton, Cody Hansen and Marshal Dutton from Hinder, Keith Neilson of Buckcherry, and Bsamz of Bad Wolves.

The band beat out 4100 bands to win a coveted spot on the Kiss Kruise in 2018 and the Bon Jovi Cruise in 2019 with Sixthman.

The band is currently releasing new music independently writing, recording, and developing themselves in Los Angeles between tour dates.

wayland band2

Band members

  • Mitch Arnold – Lead vocals
  • Phill Vilenski – Guitar
  • Dallas Hall – Bass
    • previous drummer before Nigel Dupree was Tyler Coburn
    • previous bass player before Dallas Hall was Dean Pizzazz


  • 2010: Wayland
  • 2012: Welcome to My Head (EP)
  • 2017: Rinse and Repeat

180055955 311906970293403 5472772813765315362 n

Facebook | Instagram | twitter | YouTube

Like it? Share with your friends!


What's Your Reaction?

hate hate
confused confused
fail fail
fun fun
geeky geeky
love love
lol lol
omg omg
win win


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose A Format
Personality quiz
Series of questions that intends to reveal something about the personality
Trivia quiz
Series of questions with right and wrong answers that intends to check knowledge
Voting to make decisions or determine opinions
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item
Upload your own images to make custom memes
Youtube and Vimeo Embeds
Soundcloud or Mixcloud Embeds
Photo or GIF
GIF format